Best Music of the First Half

I’m not as comprehensive as I used to be when it comes to new music, but I still try to get my hands on anything I hear buzz about or that people whose tastes I respect are recommending. And in the first half of this year, I’ve heard quite a few good albums. Here is my list of the best albums from the first half of 2009. Feel free to suggest your favorites or recommend those that you think I’ve missed.

10) Bibio, Ambivalence Avenue
9) St. Vincent, Actor
8) Passion Pit, Manners
7) Akron/Family, Set ‘Em Wild, Set ‘Em Free
6) Neko Case, Middle Cyclone
5) M. Ward, Hold Time
4) Wilco, Wilco (The Album)
3) Dirty Projectors, Bitte Orca
2) Grizzly Bear, Veckatimest
1) Animal Collective, Merriweather Post Pavilion

Other albums I liked:
Camera Obscura, My Maudlin Career; Andrew Bird, Noble Beast; Dan Deacon, Bromst; Aaron Strumpel, Elephants; U2, No Line on the Horizon; Coldplay, LeftRightLeftRightLeft; Various artists, Dark Was the Night [compilation].

EPs I liked: Bon Iver, Blood Bank; Julie Lee, Will There Really Be a Morning; Death Cab for Cutie, The Open Door; Future of Forestry, Travel.

9 responses to “Best Music of the First Half

  1. Phoenix.

  2. …so, you’re not into music by black people?

  3. Emily Dickinson! Cool

  4. Good list. All good bands. I might add to that…

    Sunset Rubdown – Dragonslayer
    Surf City – Surf City EP
    Mos Def – The Ecstatic
    Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

    Keep calm, carry on.

  5. have you ever heard Musee Mecanique? A friend told me about them this year…and someone else told me about Starflyer 59… :)

  6. In my opinion, the music that’s the most creatively vibrant and has the most to say about culture and human experience isn’t indie, but jazz and hip-hop, and to a lesser extent country. So, my picks would be rather different, though I do really like those Dirty Projectors, M. Ward, and Bibio records.

    Some of my favorites, roughly in order:
    Mos Def – The Ecstatic
    Allen Toussaint – The Bright Mississippi
    U2 – No Line…
    Joe Lovano – Folk Art
    Jarvis Cocker – Further Complications
    Buddy and Julie Miller – Written in Chalk

  7. I just got my hands on Passion Pit and I’m not letting go for a while.

  8. Veckatimest is ear candy — nice to see a mention.

    Also: it’s no longer the “first half” of the year, but I recommend the new I and Love and You EP by The Avett Brothers (released yesterday on iTunes). The album proper comes out Sept 29.

    But, for a proper acquaintance with the Avetts’ music, you must see them live! The first time I saw them in concert, their earnest/straightforward songwriting + raucous energy assaulted my “indie hipster” sensibilities. With six Avett shows under my belt and four on the horizon, I haven’t looked back.

    I notice that you’re in the LA area … they are playing a show at the Orpheum Theatre on Sept 5. I guarantee it will be time and money well spent.

  9. I agree with the Avett Brothers pick and I’ll raise you The Devil Makes Three – “Do Wrong Right”.

    Also I’ll also add James Blackshaw “The Glass Bead Game”. This dude should be busy composing film scores. Amazingly cinematic music.

    Thanks for the Akron/Family rec, Brett. They are weird and rockin!

Leave a comment