Things I’ll Miss About Westwood

Today I am moving out of my apartment in Westwood and to a new place in Whittier—30 miles east of here (to be closer to my job at Biola University). It’s exciting to move but also bittersweet. I really enjoyed my two-year stint here while attending UCLA. Westwood is a really great section of Los Angeles, with loads of history and culture. I’d highly recommend living here if anyone ever gets a chance.

Here are just a few things I’ll miss about this place:

-Tons of great, unique restaurants and hardly any chains. There are chains galore where I am moving (not to knock chains or anything…).
-The fact that I was within a ten-minute walk of a bus that could take me most any place in L.A. (this is totally a rare luxury in Southern “we drive” California).
-Being ten minutes away from the Getty Center. It’s definitely my favorite place in L.A. I enjoyed going there to study in the gardens and get lost in the overwhelmingly zen peacefulness of that place.
-The diversity. There is every ethnicity and income range imaginable on a city block in Westwood. I can walk three blocks up my street and see ridiculously luxurious condos or walk a block and find a homeless person living in a bus shelter. Not that this is a good thing…
-Diddy Riese Cookies. The best little cookie shop in the world.
-Being able to walk to an AMC 15 complex in Century City and being a five-minute drive from L.A. nicest arts theater—Landmark Westside Pavilion. And having historic old Hollywood theaters just blocks away (like the Majestic Crest, pictured above). It’s movie heaven in Westwood!
-The cemetery in my neighborhood where Marilyn Monroe’s is buried (and Natalie Wood, Truman Capote, and countless other famous people).
-The enormous numbers of naturally occurring hipsters.
-The cool temperatures. Westwood is about 5 miles from the Pacific Ocean, which means we never really get too hot or too cold. Inland (where I’m moving), the temps are a bit more extreme.
-The huge, daunting, slightly creepy Mormon temple that loomed large in my backyard (literally).
-My insane landlady. She was a very scary person and reminded me a lot of Ma Fratelli, but, God bless her, I will miss the excitement of always fearing her wrath.

6 responses to “Things I’ll Miss About Westwood

  1. I empathize, Brett. L.A. is my hometown and my favorite place, and deservedly famous for the high density of good movie theaters.

    Whittier has its perks, though. Uptown Whittier is actually a very cool, art-friendly section, with plenty of book and record stores to please the eye. I think you’ll be OK there. Only foreseeable problem: it’s about 30 minutes to the nearest art house theater (Laemmle’s One Colorado in Pasadena).

  2. I miss Westwood too sometimes…especially the times I spent walking around window-shopping in early ’05.
    But…the commute must rule the day sometimes I suppose. :)
    Congratulations on your move!!!

  3. and…AGREED about the temple!!!!

  4. all true…especially about the getty and diddy riese!

  5. A lurker that you’ve lured out of hiding – to say that living in Whittier isn’t that bad, as you’ll be closer to my alma matter Biola – and that traffic to Westwood really ISN’T that bad. On an early Saturday or Sunday morning. :)

  6. I remember I stopped at that Mormon church when I was lost and needed directions. It was a strange experience. But don’t worry. Uptown Whittier is a really cool place. I want to move there because it reminds me of the Midwest a little bit.

Leave a comment