I Joined Twitter… Sigh.

September 19 was a dark day for me… but one that I feared would come soon enough.

I joined Twitter.

This is after years and years of publicly campaigning against it in articles such as “The Problem of Pride in the Age of Twitter” and “Short Attention Span Faith.” 

And now I am a part of the monster, feeding it like everyone else…

Here’s why I did it:

1)  September 19th is my annual “sell out to technology” day. Last year I joined Facebook on Sept. 19.
2)  I might as well try it before I knock it even more.
3)  I have a book to promote.

I still think it’s silly and quite possibly a sign of the apocalypse, but hey, so are a lot of things.

If you want to “follow me” (is that the phrase?) on Twitter, here’s my url: http://twitter.com/brettmccracken

Things I will tweet include book updates, article links, random thoughts, and other worthwhile things that are under 140 characters. I promise I won’t inundate you with what I’m having for dinner or when I’m feeling sleepy or bored.

If I do, feel free to un-follow me (or whatever you call that). I’ll completely understand.

9 responses to “I Joined Twitter… Sigh.

  1. I seemed to recall you *sighed* when you started blogging. :D Blogging and Twittering are good for promoting books, in my view. Can I appeal to we-met-at-a-Godblog-and get you to sign a copy for moi? I’ll purchase the book, of course.

  2. Player Queen:
    Both here and hence pursue me lasting strife,
    If once I be a widow, ever I be a wife!

    Player King:
    ‘Tis deeply sworn. Sweet, leave me here a while,
    My spirits grow dull, and fain I would beguile
    The tedious day with sleep.

    Player Queen:
    Sleep rock thy brain,
    And never come mischance between us twain!

    Hamlet:
    Madam, how like you this play?

    Queen:
    The lady doth protest too much, methinks.

  3. I also had no intention of getting a twitter until it became a requirement for my Old Testement class, no joke.

  4. Not sure if you’re familiar with Ted Turnau but here’s a great little article he wrote on the ‘Gospel and Culture’ site.

    http://www.gospelandculture.org/2009/04/life-twittersphere/

  5. Not sure if you are familiar with Ted Turnau but here’s an article he wrote on the Gospel and Culture site.

    http://www.gospelandculture.org/2009/04/life-twittersphere/

  6. I knew you’d become one of us eventually. *Evil laughter*

  7. how did people promote books before twitter?

  8. Et tu, Brute?

  9. I felt exactly the same way before I joined several months ago. Now I see that twitter CAN be used for good. Writing in 140 characters doesn’t necessarily mean it’s catering to short attention spans. Twitter can provide a challenge for communication that fuels the fires of creativity. Some of my favorite “tweeters” are people who can communicate a wealth of information in a single tweet. Some people can provide surprisingly informative music and film review in a tweet. It takes dedication to be a good tweeter, but it can be worth it.

Leave a Reply

